Crayon Cookies

Standard

Elizabeth really loves to color. The problem though, is that she also likes to eat the crayons. And by eat I mean, break the tips off in  her mouth and scare mommy and daddy.

So, we needed a solution….

I took all of her crayons and made them into four of those little circular crayons. I’m sure this is all over the internet, but here is my version.

Most people do this to recycle all of their used and broken crayons. Not me, I used essentially new crayons. First step: Gather your crayons and strip them down. Don’t be fooled this can be harder than it looks. For example, this yellow crayon took me a full five minutes, which can feel like an eternity when you are just stripping a crayon.

I finally decided there had to be a better way…There is! Just soak the crayons in some water for a few seconds. The paper peels right off. Since the crayons are wax, it doesn’t do anything to them. Notice the tiny shreds of crayon paper.Some people just mix up the crayons to make “tie-dye” crayons, but that would drive me crazy. So I put similar colors together. I had to combine colors because I didn’t have enough of each color.

Once you fill up your muffin pan, put it in the oven at like 250°F or something and check it every five minutes or so. You can set the temperature higher or lower and heat the crayons for longer or shorter. I really don’t think it make that big of a difference. If you set the temperature really high, though, you should probably check on them often. I can imagine boiling crayon wax is not an idea. (Also, you don’t have to worry about your muffin pan, since crayons are non-toxic. )Pull them out of the oven when they are all melty and liquified. Then let them cool. Once they are cool, turn the muffin pan over and they should fall out, eventually. Or you can kind of twist your muffin pan (slightly) and that helps them pop out.

And voilà, you have cookie-shaped crayons!And yes, I realize the inherent flaw in trying to get Elizabeth to stop eating crayons by making them shaped like cookies!

-Sarah

One response »

  1. Hey, at least she can’t fit the entire cookie in her mouth like she could a broken crayon! 🙂 I think it’s a great idea…I’ll have to keep that in mind for the kiddo.

Leave a Reply

