Ambrosia Hollow: A Fresh Start

Standard

I feel the need to warn any faithful readers. This blog will be taking a detour over the next few months. I will still be posting recipes and fun stories about Elizabeth, but there will soon be a new element.

Friday morning, Brian and I put a deposit down on a house. Okay, so don’t wet your pants yet. We are just renting the house. But we have lived in apartments for the past four years. (Minus three months of hell in a country house-a whole other story for a whole other post). So to be renting a house is a much needed change.

My blog will most definitely feel the effects of this change as I document the way we turn a comfy little room-mate inhabited house into a cohesive and soothing place we call home.

We are only renting so there won’t be any wall knocking out or over-haul type work, but why should we make this any less of home just because we don’t own the place?

I am thrilled to have found this wonderful place. The house is exactly what I wanted. It is spacious and has lots of window which tons of natural light! The set up is almost perfect. I could write a sonnet!

If the place isn’t great enough, apparently the current tenants, who were a blast to meet and hang out with while they showed us the house, call the house Ambrosia Hollow! Brian’s not to hip on the name, but I think it captures the essence of what this house will hopefully be for me. Ambrosia was said to be the food of the gods, brought to them by doves, a divine exhalation of the earth. We looked at so many houses that just weren’t going to work. There was one that we thought would be absolutely perfect but the owner picked another couple over us. So we feel like this is the house God is providing for us and we love it.

My hope is that this house will be a breath of fresh air to me. There is so much space and light. I really haven’t stopped thinking about it since we put down the deposit. I can’t wait to get started making this house our home!

You can look forward to

  • pictures of the house before we do anything
  • pictures of our work and progress
  • after pictures of each room
  • funny stories-because Brian and I will both willingly admit we have no idea what we are doing
  • after pictures compared to the before pictures once it’s all done
  • lots of references to the amazing blogs I am learning from like: Young House Love and Making it Lovely
  • a wonderful journey

Keep reading!

-Sarah

p.s. Sorry for the mini-hiatus. It has been busy.

3 responses »

  1. Have you read any posts by the Nester? Her blog is thenester.com. She rents and does wonderful things with her home. I love her tag line: It doesn’t have to be perfect to be beautiful. I need that reminder often. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

