Guacamole BLT

Standard

Since we are having this freakishly warm hot few days and since we are trying to keep the AC off as long as we can stand it and since there was no way I was turning my oven on tonight: Dinner was officially a dilemma!

Thankfully, Veronica of Recipe Rhapsody posted this delicious and summery dish. So instead of whining about having nothing good to eat and eventually ordering some kind of greasy take out, we went shopping.

I was miraculously able to find some decent tomatoes and some already ripe avocados.

Let me just warn you, I don’t actually know how to make guacamole, so its just mashed up stuff with seasoning.

Anyway, on to the food.

First, you need a talented husband to fry up some perfect bacon while you pick apart some lettuce and slice the tomatoes. Apply to yummy bread of your choice. Check.

Plus some kind of concoction that resembles guacamole. Check

Ready the halves…

And smash together for a perfect mess of a fantastic summer sandwich.

Or for the more bland types (who don’t like guacamole or the traditional mayo)….You may enjoy my husband version of a BLT with mustard.

Complete your meal with ice cold glass of something you and enjoy!

Guacamole BLT

for a better recipe check out the one on Recipe Rhapsody, she actually knows what she’s talking about)

Getchya Some:

  • lettuce
  • tomato
  • bacon
  • bread (whole wheat is healthier)
  • avocada
  • lemon juice
  • salt
  • garlic powder

Make a samich:

  1. some how remove cut the avocado in half and remove the insides
  2. chop up some tomato (optional)
  3. add some lemon juice, salt, garlic powder
  4. mash it all up
  5. fry up the bacon and lay on a paper towel covered plate
  6. toast the bread
  7. cut up a tomato
  8. pick off some leaves of lettuce
  9. slather you guacamole-ish on a slice of bread
  10. put the bacon, lettuce and tomato on the other slice of bread
  11. smash together, and you really should smash
  12. Eat up!

-Sarah, One Curly Mama

P.S. Don’t forget to vote on Elizabeth’s Easter dress! Two votes is not enough. We are depending on you guys!

3 responses »

  1. I always end up laughing through your posts! 9. Case in point: “Plus some kind of concoction that resembles guacamole. Check” and “for a better recipe check out the one on Recipe Rhapsody, she actually knows what she’s talking about” and “slather you guacamole-ish on a slice of bread” Girl, you’re a riot! And actually I have no idea what I’m talking about–if you notice, I totally stole that recipe from someone else! Almost very time I make guacamole, it is total “guacamole-ish” and never tastes the way I want it to b/c I insist on just throwing it together instead of following a recipe (except in this instance, which turned out as it should have). Anyway, glad you could benefit from that post! Thanks for the props! 😀

    • I’m glad I can make you laugh. I kind of enjoyed my guacamole-ish more than I expected. I guess, because I didn’t add onions. But I will probably never have all the ingredients in my house to make formal guacamole. Just as long as I use avocados. When I try to make guac. with out avocados, its probably time for an intervention.

      • You’re killing me! But I think the intervention may be necessary now–guacamole without onions is sacrilege in my book. Almost as bad as leaving the bacon in your fridge untouched for so long that it goes bad.

Leave a Reply

