Onion Rings of Glory

Standard

Today, while in the car running errands, my darling husband insinuated that I could not make onion rings. I demanded he take me to the near by grocery store and I would buy and onion and prove him wrong. He tried to say no, but we were currently stopped at the bank, so I opened the car door and proceeded to get out. I was going to walk to said grocery store and get that onion if I had to.

I got my onion. I didn’t walk.

And, I proved him wrong.

But not without tears and a giant mess.

Tear causing culprits, these little suckers even made my mascara run. I have a mascara smudge on my arm to prove it. According to Betty Crocker, you can peel onions under cold water and your eyes won’t run. I didn’t try this. And I was not willing to chance chopping onions under water, so the benefit was lost to me.

A couple notes when you decide to fry anything:  1. Make sure you have enough flour. I did because I bought some on my onion run.  2. Make sure you have enough oil. I didn’t. I mean I made it work, but I had to use olive oil for the second round and I just barely had enough of that.

This is my first few onion rings. Isn’t that little one cute?

Her name is Franion, Franny for short. But we ate her, so it doesn’t matter.

This is number two! And he said I couldn’t make onion rings. Well chew on that!

We, I should say the doubting husband, ate the first batch while I was making them. So I didn’t get a picture, but know that at some point I had a pile of crispy onion delicious-ness.

After I pulled the last few from the first batch, we were chowing them down. Meanwhile, the oil is just cooking away…..until it started smoking and I turned the flame off.

After a quick sigh and some fresh oil, I was onto my next batch.

I am pretty sure my body does not appreciate this kind of treatment, but my taste-beds really did not mind. And neither did my hungry husband. He was too busy eating them to admit he was wrong. But I can’t make this a habit or I will perpetually be putting off homework to prove myself as wife and cook…which might have been his plan from the beginning. What a crafty husband I have.

Onion Rings of Glory

What you gotta have:

  • 2 eggs
  • 1/4 Cup of vegetable (or olive) oil
  • 1 Cup of milk
  • 3/4 Cup of flour
  • 1/2 Teaspoon of salt
  • 1 Teaspoon of Baking soda
  • 2 Tablespoons (or more) of Parmesan cheese (optional, I just added it for flavor, but I didn’t really notice.)
  • A bit, less than 1/8 a Teaspoon, of Cayenne pepper (also optional, I didn’t really notice this either, so you could add more or just add some other spices that sound good and see what happens.)
  • 2 Cups of flour for dipping into after you dip into the batter.
  • 1 large yellow/sweet onion

Do it to it:

  1. Peel and slice your onion.
  2. Mix the eggs, oil and milk  in a medium size mixing bowl.
  3. Whisk for a minute or so.
  4. Add 3/4 of a cup of flour and spices to mixture.
  5. Whisk again for a minute or so.
  6. Pour 1 cup of flour into a container.
  7. Pour oil in frying pan.
  8. Heat oil with low heat until you can sizzle a drop of water.
  9. While the oil is warming, start dipping the onion rings into the batter mixture.
  10. Then cover them with flour.
  11. Once the oil is warm, carefully put the onions that have been battered and floured, into the oil and fry them up.
  12. Fry them until they are golden brown.
  13. Bask in the glory of you homemade onion rings.

-Sarah, One Curly Mama

One response »

Leave a Reply

