Easy Homemade Mac and Cheese

Standard

At some point in the recent past I wrote that all of my February posts would be Valentine themed. Well as the month goes on I have realized after Valentine’s Day is over, there is nothing valentine-y to talk about. So, I am moving on to better, and yummier, things. Mac and Cheese! The homemade kind.

Today’s little find is the result of a craving for a quick and easy, but still tasty, dinner. You see, my darling husband is gone most nights with grad school and work and I am constantly left with a dinner dilemma. I don’t want to make something to fancy for just me and Elizabeth and have Brian miss out. Frankly though, I am tired of eating cereal, sandwiches and other assorted single person meals.

So I went to my favorite recipe finding site, Recipezaar.  I found this easy homemade macaroni and cheese bake. But…I didn’t bake it. This recipe is an alteration of the one I found. I hope you enjoy.

Maybe this recipe is obvious to everyone but me, but I feel like I stumbled upon a gem. This was so easy.

You just need some cheese.Then some gooey stuff, you will add the cheese to this after a while.Oh and some cooked elbow macaroni noodles. (^that is a new whisk by the way. valentine’s gift from hubby, love it!)

With their powers combined. . .you will eventually have some delectable macaroni n’ cheese.

Okay, now that I have tantalized you. Here is my recipe.

Easy Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

Supposedly, this recipe only serves 3-ish. You might need to double the recipe if it is your main dish.

What you need:

  • 2 Tablespoons of butter
  • 2 Tablespoons of flour
  • 1 Cup hot (not boiling) milk
  • 2 1/2 Cup shredded cheese
  • 1/2 pound elbow macaroni noodles

these are optional:

  • some Parmesan cheese, probably 2-3 Tablespoons (optional but I recommend it)
  • some salt
  • some garlic powder
  • maybe some paprika
  • any other spices you might like

Okay, here’s what you do:

  1. Boil some water and start cooking your noodles.
  2. Melt your butter in a small saucepan, over low heat.
  3. Once melted, add flour, stir constantly until the flour is absorbed
  4. When the flour is absorbed, add the hot milk and whisk in for about three minutes. You want a smooth consistency.
  5. Add your cheese and keep stirring until smooth again.
  6. If you want, add your Parmesan cheese, to taste. Note: I feel like the Parmesan cheese is what kept the sauce from being bland without having to add a lot of salt.
  7. Once you noodles are cooked, how you like them, drain them.
  8. Pour them back into their pot and add the mixture.
  9. Mix all of it together really well.
  10. Now if you want you can add any spices you want. I added a little paprika for color, but too much doesn’t taste very good. I also added a small amount of garlic powder.
  11. Macaroni Bake Option: Pour all of it into a casserole dish, top with shredded cheese and bake at 400ºF for about 20 minutes.

I will say that if you are used to the macaroni and cheese by Kraft or Velveeta, you may think this is really bland. Those brands tend to have a lot of salt. I never realized until I stopped eating them for awhile and then had some. This recipe is a nice alternative.

I hope you enjoyed this fabulous recipe as much as we did.

-Sarah, One Curly Mama

2 responses »

  1. Sounds YUMMY! I never made homemade mac and cheese until Dec 31 2009–I wanted to end the year with a really fattening dish since the next day I’d be starting a diet–hehehe! Anyway, it was soooo yummy and yours looks even better. You know what’s funny? My hubby gave me an old-fashioned crank sifter and a cookie scoop for Valentine’s Day. Do our hubby’s know us, or what?! LOL!

Leave a Reply

