Craving Biscuits and Gravy??

Standard

Have you ever woken up on a Saturday morning and thought mmm biscuits and gravy sound really good, tooc  bad we don’t have any sausage? Well did you know you can make gravy without grease? You can!! I didn’t know until recently. I searched Recipezaar.com without much hope and I happened upon this recipe.

No-Sausage-Gravy

You’ll need:

  • 2 Tablespoons of Butter
  • 2 Tablespoons of Flour
  • 2 Cups of Milk
  • 1/2 Teaspoon of Salt
  • 1/2 Teaspoon of Pepper
  • 1 Teaspoon of poultry seasoning,optional

Easy steps to yummy gravy:

  1. Melt butter in a saucepan over medium heart.
  2. Sprinkle flour over melted butter and whisk together to form a paste.
  3. Allow this to cook for a minute.
  4. Pour in milk, all at once, whisking constantly.
  5. While still whisking: add seasonings.
  6. Allow the gravy to come to boil, keep whisking.
  7. Perfect to your taste with your seasoings.
  8. Enjoy!

Note: I didn’t use the poultry seasoning, if you want added flavor you can season the gravy to taste with what you have on hand. Poultry seasoning is a mixture of sage, thyme, celery salt and savory. These flavors will help give the sausage-y flavor.

Another Note: Make sure you use 1/2 a teaspoon of pepper, not 1 teaspoon or the gravy will be really peppery. However I did make  the same mistake with the salt and I thought it was a perfect amount of salt. But 1/2 a teaspoon of salt is healthier.

One More Note: This recipe is supposed to serve 4-6, but my husband and I ate all of this gravy and could have used more. So if you like more gravy you will probably need to double this recipe. However if you are trying not to consume gallons of gravy for you health you might stick to these amounts.

As for the biscuits, you can just serve them with store bought biscuits or you can make these from scratch:

Homemade Biscuits

You’ll need:

  • 2 Cups of all-purpose flour
  • 4 Teaspoons of baking powder
  • 2 Tablespoons of granulated sugar
  • 1 Teaspoon of salt
  • 1/3 Cup of butter or margarine
  • 3/4 Cup of milk

What to do:

  1. Preheat your oven to 425°F
  2. Mix the flour, baking powder, sugar and salt together in a bowl.
  3. Cut in the butter until the mixture becomes crumbly.
  4. Add the milk.
  5. Stir until a ball forms, you can a little bit more milk if you needed to make a soft dough.
  6. You can roll the dough out and cut circles with a floured glass OR you can make 11-12  balls of dough.
  7. Arrange them on a greased baking sheet.
  8. Bake at 425ºF about 10-12 minutes or until done. Some ovens take longer, but be careful not to burn the bottoms.
  9. Enjoy

Voila! You have a great breakfast plan for Saturday!

Yummy Biscuits and Gravy!-Sarah, One Curly Mama

7 responses »

  1. Now instead of our wednesday-eggs, sausage, bisquits, and hash browns,
    I want bisquits and gravy. Only I’m much lazier than you, I think we’ll do Braums
    they are pretty good. But not nearly as good as your home made ones!
    Good job Essie!

  2. Your biscuits turn out so pretty! I make ugly biscuits. 😉 haha! I’m loving your blog, btw! I started one, but I don’t have the guts to link it to anything. 🙂

  3. Thank you April! Appreciate the comments too! And for my biscuits, I don’t roll the dough out and cut them, I just rolled them into balls, like I do with cookie dough. And they turned out like that. So you could try that. You should at least link your blog on Facebook!

  4. Oh no you didn’t just do this to me first thing on a Saturday morning! Now I’m DYING for biscuits and gravy but have waited so long to eat that I’m too hungry and have to eat cereal just to appease my growling stomach. Your biscuits look so amazing. I hate you. 😉

Leave a Reply

