Support Haiti

Standard

I must admit I have intentionally been avoiding the topic of Haiti. I haven’t been watching the news, and I have paid minimal attention to anything having to do with all the devastation. I actually paid more attention to the Leno v. O’Brien drama than I did the Haiti situation. At one point, I even caught myself wondering when all this Haiti stuff would be over. I realized that I am struggling with how to deal with the horror and suffering that I could never even imagine. I don’t want to talk about it because I don’t want to admit that it is a big deal nor that it is even real. But the unimaginable terror is real and the suffering is constant, so I am asking you to join me in supporting Haiti.

Learn about Haiti

For a quick read about the nation of Haiti click here.

For the latest coverage click here or here.

Support the Haiti relief effort

Here are some different ways you can help:

The Haitian School Initiative by STILLERSTRONG.org. Ben Stiller recently launched this program to build temporary schools for Haitians displaced by the earthquake.

Churches Helping Churches is committed to helping rebuild the churches in Haiti so they can continue to minster to the hurting people in their country. And they are also encouraging churches here in the U.S. to take up a special offering for this cause.

Through the American Red Cross you can donate money, give blood, collect and donate clothing, food, water and etc. and you can even volunteer to travel to Haiti.

You can also text “Haiti” to 90999 and a $10 donation will be added to your phone bill. How easy is that?

UNICEF offers a number of ways to be involved. Their emphasis is on the children.

Yéle Haiti is an organization started by Wyclef Jean. You can donate online or via text, or you can shop their online store and the proceeds will go the Haitian earthquake relief.

Text YELE to 501501 to donate $5 or text HAITI to 501501 to donate $10.

If you want to see bipartisan action check out the Clinton Bush Haiti Fund.

The World Food Programme is helping to feed the hungry in Haiti.

To donate $5 to their efforts text FRIENDS to 90999

Please be as generous as you can.

-Sarah, One Curly Mama

Leave a Reply

