10 Ways to Chillax

Standard

Hooray for the end of the first week of classes!

Well, it has been a long week. I told a friend today that I forgot how exhausting it was to take classes. It is only the first week of class and I have stayed up late each night reading. And with a baby who just wants me to read That’s Not My Dinosaur… ten times in a row, I am even more tired. I am looking forward to the long weekend. My hope is that I will take the time to get some homework done, but that I will also let myself relax. I hope you will do the same. In an effort to encourage your relaxation here are 10 ways to chillax.

1. Sleep.

This seems simple enough, but don’t be tempted to stay up late every night this weekend just because you don’t have class. Go to bed and actually let your body rest.

2. Read

Take some time to read something not required for class. I suggest a collection of good short stories or even poems. Read some thing that will stimulate your mind but not because you have to. Find a quiet place and just spend half an hour reading a book you enjoy.

3. Take a Walk

Weather.com is forecasting some drizzle on Saturday, but on Sunday the high is in the upper 50s and by the afternoon it should be sunny. (In the Stillwater area) So get out of your house or apartment and walk around. Breathe in the fresh air and appreciate the nature around you.

4. Soak in a Bubble Bath

Put some suds in the tub and light some smelly-good candles; you’re good to go.

5. Pamper Yourself

Just take some time out of your weekend and do something to pamper yourself. Paint your toenails. Treat your hair to a deep conditioning treatment. Do a facial. Invite a friend over and go slumber party style. Put your hair up in towels, do a facial and paint each others’ nails. Or don’t. Maybe find your self 10 minutes alone to apply that fresh coat of polish. Whatever you do, just treat your body to a little indulgence.

6. Do something you love.

Whether it is scrap booking, painting, writing, playing sports, baking, whatever it is, get to it.

7. Play

Just have a good time. Maybe you can play some easy video games with a group of friends. (In that case I suggest Super Mario Brothers for the Wii) Maybe you need to just go to the park and swing. Or in my case I like to roll around and chase and play with my daughter. Just have a good time and don’t worry about life.

8. Exercise

I know, you’re thinking, how is exercise relaxing. But I have to say, I have been exercising more and as much as my legs burn, I feel much less stressed. I feel energized and proud of myself for accomplishing something. Even if you just go for a walk or play a game of basketball, just be active and work some of that tension out.

9. Cry

Okay, I know this sounds really crazy. But some times all the stress of life builds up and we don’t have a release. Get some alone time and just cry. Or find some one you can trust and let them cry with you. Another option is watching a sentimental movie to get your tear ducts going. However you do it, crying will let you work out some of that mounting tension.

10. Laugh (my favorite)

My Nana used to always use that old saying “laughter is the best medicine”. Well whoever came up with that was on to something.  Laughing is actually really good for you.  In fact, several websites list the health benefits of laughing, including this one. Not only is laughing physically and mentally healthy for you, it is so entertaining, especially if you have a friend who snorts.

Enjoy your long weekend and try to relax.

-Sarah, One Curly Mama

One response »

Leave a Reply

